Wednesday, November 5, 2014

E-Governance initiatives in India

e-Governance in India has steadily evolved from computerization of Government Departments to initiatives that encapsulate the finer points of Governance, such as citizen centricity, service orientation and transparency. Lessons from previous e-Governance initiatives have played an important role in shaping the progressive e-Governance strategy of the country. Due cognizance has been taken of the notion that to speed up e-Governance implementation across the various arms of Government at National, State, and Local levels, a programme approach needs to be adopted, guided by common vision and strategy. Thus, Government of India had adapted “ National e-Governance Plan (NeGP) with Vision “"Make all Government services accessible to the common man in his locality, through common service delivery outlets,and ensure efficiency, transparency, and reliability of such services at affordable costs to realise the basic needs of the common man"
NeGP at a Glance:
The NeGP comprises of 31 Mission Mode Projects (MMPs) to be implemented at the Central, State & Local Government levels, with 8 Common core and infrastructure support services (like State Data Centres(SDCs), State Wide Area Network (SWAN), Common Service Centres (CSCs), National e-Governance Service Delivery Gateway (NSDG), State e-Governance Service Delivery Gateway (SSDG), and Mobile e-Governance Service Delivery Gateway (MSDG)), was approved by Government of India on 18th May 2006. The Central Government Ministries are responsible to implement Central MMPs , while the state Governments are responsible for implementation of State MMPs within their State and Department of Electronic & IT(DeitY) is responsible for overall implementation, monitoring and providing the technical assistance to the concerned ministries and State Governments. The estimated cost of implementation of NeGP during the year 2006 was Rs 324882 Million/USD81220 Million. (approx). The present status of various MMPs planned during the year 2006 are as under-

No comments:

Post a Comment